Skip to product information
1 of 2

Encore Records Ltd

Black Sabbath - Technical Ecstasy - 5LP

Regular price $139.99 CAD
Regular price Sale price $139.99 CAD


LP Version Of Black Sabbath’s Seventh Studio Album Features The Original Album Newly Remastered, A Brand New Mix Of The Album By Steven Wilson, Plus Previously Unreleased Outtakes, Alternative Mixes, And Live Tracks.

Black Sabbath embraced change in 1976 when the heavy metal innovators started managing themselves and began exploring different sounds on the band’s seventh studio album, Technical Ecstasy. The record reached #13 in the U.K. and was certified gold in the U.S.

In the summer of 1976, Ozzy Osbourne, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Bill Ward headed to Miami to record Technical Ecstasy at the famed Criteria Studios. The band was coming off a world tour for their previous album, Sabotage, that had found their live performances evolving to include keyboards and synthesizers. These newly incorporated instruments and sounds were then introduced into the recording process on Technical Ecstasy. The new songs encompassed a wide range of styles from the hard charging “Back Street Kids” and ballad “It’s Alright,” to the funky “All Moving Parts (Stand Still)” and progressive “Gypsy.” The album also featured the single “It’s Alright,” which was the first Sabbath song to feature lead vocals by Ward. The Deluxe Edition presents a newly remastered version of the eight-track album, along with an entirely new mix of the album created by Steven Wilson using the original analog tapes.

TECHNICAL ECSTASY: SUPER DELUXE EDITION comes with eight previously unreleased outtakes and alternative mixes. Among those are different mixes of “You Won’t Change Me” and “Rock ’n’ Roll Doctor,” as well as both outtake and instrumental versions for “She’s Gone.” The collection concludes with 10 previously unreleased live tracks recorded during the 1976-77 Technical Ecstasy World Tour. The songs touch on different eras of the band’s history with early tracks like “Black Sabbath” and “War Pigs” alongside new songs “Gypsy” and “Dirty Women.”

The collection comes with an extensive booklet featuring artwork, liner notes, rare memorabilia and photos from the era, plus a replica of the 1976-77 world tour concert book and a large colour poster.

LP One: Original Album Remastered

Side One

1. Back Street Kids
2. You Won't Change Me
3. It's Alright
4. Gypsy

Side Two

1. All Moving Parts (Stand Still)
2. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor
3. She's Gone
4. Dirty Women

LP Two: New Steven Wilson Mix

Side Three

1. Back Street Kids *
2. You Won't Change Me *
3. It's Alright – Mono Single
4. Gypsy *

Side Four

1. All Moving Parts (Stand Still) *
2. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor *
3. She's Gone *
4. Dirty Women *

LP Three: Outtakes & Alternative Mixes

Side Five

1. Back Street Kids – Alternative Mix *
2. You Won't Change Me – Alternative Mix
3. Gypsy – Alternative Mix *
4. All Moving Parts (Stand Still) – Alternative Mix *

Side Six

1. Rock 'n' Roll Doctor – Alternative Mix *
2. She's Gone – Outtake Version *
3. Dirty Women – Alternative Mix *
4. She's Gone – Instrumental Mix *

LP Four: Live World Tour 1976-77

Side Seven

1. Symptom Of The Universe *
2. War Pigs *
3. Gypsy *

Side Eight

1. Black Sabbath *
2. All Moving Parts (Stand Still) *

LP Five: Live World Tour 1976-77

Side Nine

1. Dirty Women *
2. Drum Solo / Guitar Solo *

Side Ten

1. Electric Funeral *
2. Snowblind *
3. Children Of The Grave *

* previously unreleased