Skip to product information
1 of 1

Encore Records Ltd

Desert Sessions Volume 11 & 12 - CD

Regular price $16.99 CAD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 CAD
1 CD 

In 1997, Josh Homme (Queens of the Stone Age) and a handful of friends retreated to the desert of Joshua Tree, CA in order to isolate themselves from the distractions and comforts of their everyday lives. What began as a casual writing and recording session amongst friends has since become a project of legend. Spanning twelve volumes over the course of two decades, Desert Sessions has featured some of music’s most cherished icons stepping out of their comfort zones and collaborating with one another to create some of the most exciting music of their careers.

Ending a 16-year hiatus since its last installment, the most mythical, longest running rock n roll mixtape odyssey in existence, Desert Sessions returns this October with the most ambitious entries yet in its expansive and elusive catalog.

Vols. 11 & 12 were recorded mostly in a six-day span in December 2018 at Rancho De La Luna studios in Joshua Tree, CA, with Queens of the Stone Age founder and Desert Sessions ringleader/producer Joshua Homme enlisting a cast of players including Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top), Stella Mozgawa (Warpaint), Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters), Mike Kerr (Royal Blood), Carla Azar (Autolux, Jack White), Les Claypool (Primus), Matt Sweeney, Matt Berry (What We Do in the Shadows, Toast of London), newcomer, Libby Grace and Töôrnst Hülpft.

The results are eight new songs that embody the legacy of freedom from expectations and inhibitions that stretches back to 1997, when Homme led a first retreat to the Joshua Tree desert. What began as a casual writing and recording session amongst friends—isolated from daily distractions and comforts—has since become a possibly infinite body of work.

The tracklist for Desert Sessions Vols. 11 (Arrivederci Despair) and 12 (Tightwads & Nitwits & Critics & Heels) is: Move Together (lead vocal: Billy F. Gibbons), Noses in Roses, Forever (lead vocal: Joshua Homme), Far East for the Trees, If You Run (lead vocal: Libby Grace), Crucifire (lead vocal: Mike Kerr), Chic Tweetz (vocals: Töôrnst Hülpft, Matt Berry), Something You Can’t See (lead vocal: Jake Shears), Easier Said Than Done (lead vocal: Joshua Homme).