Skip to product information
1 of 2

Encore Records Ltd

House Of Love - A State Of Grace - CD

Regular price $22.99 CAD
Regular price Sale price $22.99 CAD
1 CD - UK Import 

Guy says: “It is the best set of songs I have written for years and the pandemic ironically gave me the time and space to develop and arrange the songs.” The album was recorded with a new line-up, originally put together for an American 30th Anniversary tour, now rescheduled for October. In the current line-up, Guy (lead vocals/guitar) is joined by Keith Osborne (lead guitar), Hugo Degenhardt (drums) and Harry Osborne (bass).

‘A State Of Grace’ is an eclectic collection of tracks, from the driving, grungy ‘Clouds’ to the eerie, atmospheric groove of ‘Sweet Loser’, the riffy powerful ballad ‘In My Mind’ and the folksy finale, ‘Just One More Song’. This is the first time the band’s recordings have featured instruments such as harp, pedal and lap steel guitar, banjo and violin, all adding to the unique guitar sounds we’ve come to know and love from The House of Love.

The album was recorded at Pett Sounds and mixed by Babe Rainbow’s Warne Livesey. Keeping it in the family, a promo 16mm video has been filmed by Guy’s nephew and Godson, George Moore-Chadwick.

Track listing:

1 Sweet Loser
2 Light Of The Morning
3 Melody Rose
4 Clouds
5 Into The Laughter
6 Hey Babe
7 Sweet Water
8 Queen Of Song
9 In My Mind
10 A State Of Grace
11 Dice Are Rolling
12 Just One More Song

Super deluxe five CD set in hardback book packaging.

The House of Love was one of the most successful and critically acclaimed bands to grace Creation Records back in the late 1980s.

Their eponymous debut album, which was cited as one of the best albums of 1988 by music magazines and Indie fans alike, celebrates it's 30th Anniversary! Expanding on 2012's three CD version, this super deluxe edition of The House of Love offers the band's complete Creation recordings from 1987-1988, together with a raft of rarities and previously unissued bonus material.

It also boasts all their Creation Records singles, from the original version of 'Shine On', 'Real Animal' and 'Christine' to their final single for the label, 'Destroy The Heart'. For the first time, the album is remastered from the original quarter-inch tapes.

Discs Two and Three combine all their non-album tracks with numerous House Of Love demos and early mixes, many of which were never released.

Disc Four soaks up the various BBC radio sessions for John Peel while Disc Five combines mostly unissued live tracks from various shows.

This package is housed in a stylish hardback book set with fresh sleeve-notes from NME journalist Neil Taylor (with inters 30th anniversary this view quotes from lead singer/guitarist Guy Chadwick and original bassist Chris Groothuizen) and rare images from the band's photographer Suzie Gibbons