Skip to product information
1 of 1

Encore Records Ltd

OST-kraut! Progressives Aus Den DDR-archiven (1970-1975), Vol. 1 - 2CD

OST-kraut! Progressives Aus Den DDR-archiven (1970-1975), Vol. 1 - 2CD

Regular price $34.99 CAD
Regular price Sale price $34.99 CAD
Sale Sold out
1 CD - Import

Please, note: liner notes in German!

Progressive rock from the German Democratic Republic! Never before has the GDR scene been honored so extensively with studio and live recordings.

Bear Family Records® has documented what was happening in GDR rock off the mainstream by means of well-known rarities and some that have never before been released on record.

From around 1970 onwards, highly skilled musicians began to copy the sound of their Western idols.

The state's cultural policy had banished followers of western juvenile culture into the underground with restrictions & bans as early as 1965.

There was no 'beat ban' for progressive artists in the socialist brother countries such as Poland & the CSSR - the technical and artistic lead was correspondingly enormous, role models for the burgeoning young GDR scene.

Progressives aus DDR-Archiven' brings together on two CDs the crème de la crème of the rock scene of the GDR and other socialist countries at the time, with recordings for AMIGA and the Deutsche Rundfunkarchiv (DRA).

The masters originated between 1970 and 1975 and were stylishly compiled by journalist and East German rock connoisseur, Marcus Heumann.

76-page booklet with numerous illustrations, photos and biographies of the bands & musicians vividly reflects the history of progressive rock in the GDR

After the great success of the four-part double CD edition 'KRAUT! The Innovative Years of Krautrock, 1968 - 1979' on Bear Family Records®, it was obvious to honor the progressive music of the GDR for the first time with a similarly elaborate release! Admittedly, this series is a bit of a misnomer - the term 'Kraut' was completely uncommon in the GDR music scene, just as 'rock' was still dubbed 'beat' there until the mid'70s.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
    • Peter Holten Septett - Weiter, Weiter
    • WIR - Zeit
    • Die Skalden (Skaldowie) - Kennst Du das nicht (Czasem kochac chesz)
    • Bayon - Input
    • Rote Gitarren - Wachsein im Dunkel
    • Ekkehard Sander Septett - Kein Märchen
    • Puhdys - Steige nicht auf einen Baum
    • Joco Dev Sextett - Stapellauf (Erstfassung)
    • Pavol Hammel & Prudy - Schluss mit den Märchen (Koniec Rozprávky)
    • Uve Schikora und seine Gruppe - Deine Augen
    • Bürkholz Formation - Sei kein Vulkan
    • Omega - Zerbrechlicher Schwung
    • Breakout - Ich hab die Sonne (Na dnie mych oczu)
    • Collegium Musicum - Hommage à Johann Sebastian Bach
Disc 2:
    • Electra Combo - Tritt ein in den Dom
    • Nautiks - Wir gehen am Meer
    • Lift - Roter Stein
    • Blue Effect - Clara
    • Klaus Renft Combo - Was mir fehlt
    • Kati Kovács und die Juventus Gruppe - Wind, komm, bring den Regen her (Add Már Uram Az Esöt)
    • Panta Rhei - Gib dir selber eine Chance
    • Hungaria - Die Farben der Natur
    • Die Skalden (Skaldowie) - Ein ferner Punkt (Jak Znikający Punkt)
    • Set - Eisen
    • Illés - Hier stand die Sonne hoch
    • Klosterbrüder & Stern Combo Meißen - Gedanken an Fusion: Aktivität
    • Jürgen Kerth - Nacht unterwegs
    • Modern Septett Berlin - Sagen

View full details